Bosco’s Summer Reading List

BookPeople's Blog

bosco

I keep my summer reading on the escapist side. I’m not looking for a heavy intellectual challenge. I’m looking for a respite from the oppressive central Texas summer heat. I prefer to read at home, at night in my bed with crickets chirping in the trees outside my window and my ceiling fan blowing on my bare legs and feet. These are my summer picks.

Lonesome Dove by Larry McMurtry

It’s a Texas book for the Texas heat. It’s a grand adventure. My favorite western. It’s beautiful. It’s tragic and it’s epic in scope. It’s the holy grail of Texas tales, steeped in Lone Star mythos. Goodnight and Loving would be proud to know what they had spawned.

Cryptonomicon by Neal Stephenson

This is historical fiction dressed up as a techno thriller. You don’t have to be a nerd to love a good treasure hunt but if you throw in…

View original post 220 more words

Leave a Reply

